Report 1

Liptrott/Thomas take Sidecar Spectacular

A small but quality field of sidecars fronted for the second meeting of the current season the main focus of which was the Sidecar Spectacular.

With the likes of State Champions Daniel Bishop/Juston Winchester; last week’s undefeated pairing of Darren Nash/Ash Shield; the super competitive Reece Liptrott/Jesse Thomas team plus young gun Jack Fewster with Steve McQueen swinging it was always going to be a good show.

At the end of the night in the all-important Final three of those four teams had qualified. Nash and Shield were out with mechanical gremlins earlier in the evening which opened the way for the temporary combination of Ryan Fanderlinden and Brayden Wells to make the field. Liptrott and Thomas however got the job done leading home Bishop/Winchester and Fewster/McQueen, the latter team somewhat lucky as McQueen had fallen from the outfit in the first attempt at starting the race.

Matt Marson showed his class by dominating the 500cc Senior Solo races winning his four qualifying heats and then taking out the Final. Marson gated brilliantly all evening. Declan Killeen showed great composure in running second as he saw off several challenges from wily veteran Frank Smart who eventually fell elevating Kobee Ziedas to third.

In the 250cc’s Luke Killeen continued his unbeaten run. Jack McDiarmid had to settle for second all night while 250 newcomer Colby Mason continued to impress even if it did include a couple of falls while chasing hard. The meeting also included several demonstrations runs with Mitchell McDiarmid and Lincoln Metcalf on 250’s both boys acquitting themselves well.

Junior Sidecar racing saw a great return to form by Adam Fewster and Thomas Grigson, they swept the program winning all night. Jake Harvey was joined by new passenger Nathan Gajek, while Chayne and Portia Roe were hugely competitive but couldn’t reproduce their great form from the previous meeting.

Seventeen 125cc Solos produced some outstanding contests and at the end of the night it was Lincoln Metcalf who won the Final over Mitchell McDiarmid with Hunter Mason third and Xander Smith fourth. Making the final was a big effort given the size of the qualifying field.

Tyler Madgen, who also rides 125’s, continued his good form in the 110cc class. Mason Robins, Pace Sturmfels and Phoenix Elliott also made the final but the race belonged to Madgen.




Senior Sidecars: 1st Liptrott/Thomas, 2nd Bishop/Winchester, 3rd Fewster/McQueen, 4th Fanderlinden/Wells. Time 65.76


500cc Senior Solos: 1st Matt Marson, 2nd Declan Killeen, 3rd Kobee Zeidas. No 4th Frank Smart fell. Time 61.78 secs


250cc Solos: 1st Luke Killeen, 2nd Jack McDiarmid, No 3rd Colby Mason fell. Time 65.06 secs


250cc Sidecars: 1st Adam Fewster/Thomas Grigson, 2nd Jake Harvey/Nathan Gajek, 3rd Chayne and Portia Roe Time 40.38 secs


125cc (Semi Final): 1st Xander Smith, 2nd Trevor Dossett, 3rd Mason Hunter, 4th Axel McCarthy. Time 44.71


125cc Solos: 1st Linkin Metcalf, 2nd Mitchell McDiarmid, 3rd Hunter Mason, 4th Xander Smith Time 41.34 secs.


110cc Bikes: 1st Tyler Madgen, 2nd Mason Robins, 3rd Phoenix Elliott, 4th Pace Sturmfels Jake Corbett. Time 48.26